

REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR APRNS HAWAII CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE APPLICATION

The application is used by APRNs seeking a Hawaii controlled substance registration. Registration is required for every person who administers and prescribes any controlled substance within the State.

Carefully read these instructions before you begin to fill out the application.

REQUIREMENTS				
Who May Apply?	The application is to be used by APRNs seeking a Hawaii controlled substance registration. An APRN must have an active and current Hawaii APRN license with prescriptive authority. Registration is required for every person who administers and prescribes any controlled substance within the State. This is an annual registration.			
Required Documentation	 The following items/documents are required when applying: Completed application form Hawaii APRN license with prescriptive authority (PVL) HI-PDMP account information Payment of fee Wet signature exemplar form Attestation to laws form Training acknowledgements form Additional documents, and a site inspection, may be required if you intend to purchase and keep your own stock of controlled substances for the purposes of administration: Pre-inspection required attestation and questionnaire A copy of written policy/procedures 			
Hawaii APRN License (PVL)	A current and active State of Hawaii APRN license with prescriptive authority is required. If you do not have an APRN license or it has expired, you will need to obtain one through the Professional & Vocational Licensing (PVL) Division. You may visit their website https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ for more information. Our office cannot process your application until after your license has been finalized.			

Fees	APRN fee\$115
	*Fees are not refundable and are due upon submission of the application.
	Payments can only be made in the application via a credit card. We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Credit card payments cannot be made over the phone.
	Federal, state, and local officials may be exempt from the practitioner fee if employed by a government agency. Having a fee-exempt registration restricts the registrant's practice to only the government location. If the registrant practices with controlled substances at a non-government facility, they must obtain a separate registration and pay the appropriate fee(s). Please review the <u>Fee-Exempt Requirements</u> to see if you're eligible.
	NOTE: One of the legal requirements that you must meet to obtain a certificate is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a certificate before the payment you submit for the required fee(s) is honored by your bank. If payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your certificate will not be valid, and you may not do business under the certificate. A \$25.00 service charge shall also be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.
HI-PDMP Account	Applicants must register with the Hawaii Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (HI-PDMP) <u>prior</u> to obtaining a new or renewal registration. To register with HI-PDMP, visit <u>https://hawaii.pmpaware.net/</u> . Go to 'Create Account' and select the 'New User' role. Veterinarians are exempt and do not need to register.

INSTRUCTIONS

You may visit <u>https://ned.ehawaii.gov/portal/</u> to complete an online application. Applicants must first have an ehawaii.gov account to apply online. Before completing an online application, we recommend you first see if you have any registrations under "My Registrations." If you previously had a registration that is expired/inactive, you will need to renew the registration as opposed to applying for a new one.

Most items on the application are self-explanatory, however, further explanation for each field is discussed below. Sections that are marked as required need to be completed.

Registration Type and
ClassificationAs a practitioner, you will select "Individual" as the type and "APRN" under Registrant
Classification.Prescription Drug
Monitoring Program
(HI-PDMP)You cannot proceed forward with the application until you are registered with HI-
PDMP, unless you are a veterinarian. This is a one-time requirement to obtain a
registration. If you already have a HI-PDMP user account, do not create a second
account. Provide your HI-PDMP email in the field provided.

Locum Tenens	Locum tenens means an APRN who is licensed in the State and temporarily substitutes for another practitioner for a period not to exceed 60 days at that other practitioner's registered place of business. These practitioners are not eligible to review an oral code number as designated by HRS 328-16(k).
	Should the circumstance change and the practitioner is employed for more than 60 days and needs an oral code, you may inform our office in writing of the request.
Legal Name	Your name as reflected on your registration will match what is on your Hawaii APRN license. If you would like to update your name, you will first need to contact the Professional & Vocational Licensing Division with the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. You may visit their website at https://www.cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ for more information. Once it has been updated, you may contact our office for further assistance.
DBA (if applicable)	"Doing Business As" means you will be working under a name different other than your legal name. Your business name will remain the same despite a possible change in business location.
PVL Number and Expiration Date	Applicant must have a current and active State of Hawaii medical license. Input your license number and select the correct expiration date.
Individual Affiliated Organization Name	The individual affiliated organization is the name of the company/facility you are working on behalf of (i.e. Queen's Medical Center, Kaiser Permanente, Department of Health, etc.)
Hawaii Business Street Address	The address supplied must be the applicant's primary practice location and an actual location where controlled substance activities take place. The address must be a physical street address in Hawaii and cannot be solely a post office box. This principal address is what will appear on your controlled substance certificate. It will need to match the address on the federal DEA certificate you will obtain afterward.
	For those electing to only prescribe controlled substances only need one CS registration. In the event the applicant elects to administer controlled substances in more than one location, a separate CS and DEA certificate is required for each Hawaii location.
Hawaii Business Phone Number	The business phone number for the entity you will be working for.

National Provider Identifier (NPI) No.	A 10-digit number used to identify yourself as an individual provider. This does not apply to veterinarians.
Mailing Address	It is important that NED is aware of your current mailing address. This address is used to mail any notices regarding your registration, including duplicate certificates. The address DOES NOT need to be located in Hawaii. It should, however, be a location where the applicant can obtain mail. If the mailing address is the same as the one supplied for the business address, check "Same as business address".
	If this address needs to be changed/updated in the future, please inform our office right away in writing or visit the online portal to make the necessary changes.
Home/Cell phone number	This number is required in case we need to contact you for application/registration purposes.
Alternate phone number	If we are unable to contact you at the home/cell phone number provided, we may contact you at the alternate phone number provided.
Primary Email Address	The email is to be used for general registrant notifications and to contact you with any questions we may have regarding your application. The primary email <u>must be the</u> <u>registrant's primary email</u> . It cannot be the credentialing agent or office manager's email address.
Secondary Email Address	The email to be used for general registrant notifications. The secondary email address can be the applicant's alternate email, a credentialing agent, or office manager email.
Additional Prescribe Locations	The application must have a Hawaii business street address as your primary practice. If you have additional locations, you are only prescribing out of (not administering), those must also be listed on the application. Like your primary business location, this may not be solely a post office box. There is no limit as to how many additional prescribe locations you may have. You may add more than one address by selecting the "Add" button. The Hawaii Business Name is the name of the individual affiliated organization you are working on behalf of.
	NOTE: If you intend to maintain controlled substances at other locations (e.g. administer), you must submit and maintain a separate Hawaii Controlled Substance Registration for each location.
Drug Schedules	Applicant should check all drug schedules to be handled. Please review <u>HRS 329</u> for information regarding controlled substances and where each drug is scheduled. APRNs are only allowed to handle Schedules II through V.

Drug Activities	 Registrants will be restricted to the activity selected. For the purposes of this application, please see the below definitions to ensure you are selecting the correct one(s). Administer (from own stock) – applicant will purchase and keep their own inventory of controlled substances for the purpose of administering to patients by injection, direct application, and/or ingestion in the presence and direct supervision of healthcare facility or practice staff. An inspection of the office, along with policy review, may need to be required by our office personnel before the application can be processed and certificate is issued. Administer (from other stock) – applicant will use another healthcare registrant's stock of controlled substances to apply by injection, ingestion, suppository, topical, or any other means directly to the patient in a healthcare setting. Prescribe – a written order for a controlled substance to be administered or dispensed by a pharmacist or another practitioner. Certify medical cannabis use
Attestation of Hawaii Controlled Substance Laws & Regulations	Applicants are required to be familiar with the laws and regulations for controlled substances in Hawaii, <u>HRS 329</u> and <u>HAR Title 23 Chapter 200</u> . Check the box if you have reviewed the laws pertaining to practitioners.
Document Uploads	 You are required to fill out and upload the following documents which can be found on https://dps.hawaii.gov/ned/: Signature form (one-time requirement) Training acknowledgements form Acknowledgement of laws form (one-time requirement) The files may be uploaded as PDF, DOCX, DOC, JPEG, and PNG.
Questions	In the event the response to any of the questions is "YES", you are required to attach a detailed explanation and provide supplemental information as directed on the application.
Authorization	Please read the authorization at the end of the application, sign, and date it. You may submit your online application by clicking continue. We are unable to process your application until it is submitted and paid for. Please ensure that all required fields are completed, and all necessary documents have been uploaded.

	ADDIT	IONAL INFORMATION			
Processing	Applications are processed within 10 business days of receipt. You may view the status of your application through your online account. Should we need additional documentation/information from you, we will contact you via email/phone. You may also view notifications of your application in the inbox of your account.				
	If your activities include administer from your own stock, your application ma processed after successful completion of the inspection process.				
	Once your application is conditionally approved, you may visit your account to download and print a copy of your certificate. A hard copy will also be mailed to you along with your oral code number. Your registration will be pending . Please be sure to read through the packet thoroughly to ensure completion of the registration process. You must have an active registration before working with controlled substances.				
Federal DEA Certificate	Registrants may apply for their Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration <u>after</u> receiving their Hawaii Controlled Substance Registration. You must have a Hawaii CSR and a Federal DEA Registration that both have the same Hawaii business address and drug schedules before you can prescribe, dispense, and/or administer controlled substances.				
	The DEA number is only valid in the state listed on the certificate. If you alread DEA number, you may transfer it to Hawaii if you plan to discontinue practice state. If you are practicing in both Hawaii and another state, you may obtain a DEA number for both states. Please contact the Federal DEA by visiting their state <u>https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/</u> for additional information.				
	Upon receipt of the Federal DEA certificate, registrants are to send a copy to the Division by email at <u>hawaiicsreg@hawaii.gov</u> or fax to 808-837-8474. The registration may then be activated after it's received.				
Oral Code	An oral code, also known as a call number, enables you to call prescriptions into a pharmacy. It allows you to convey oral prescriptions for both non-controlled and controlled substances via telephonic and facsimile to a pharmacy. It is a security code to verify your identity and should be kept confidential .				
Expiration	Registration expiration dates are based on the first letter of your last name. New registrations with six months or more remaining will expire on the designated month/day listed and new registrations with less than six months remaining when the application is processed will expire on the designated month/day of the following year.				
	Renewal Letter M Renewal Letter S	Expiration Date 31-Jan Expiration Date 28-Feb	Inactivation Date 1-Mar* Inactivation Date 1-Apr*		

	Renewal Letter L,P Renewal Letter Q,R Renewal Letter U,V,W X,Y,Z Renewal Letter A,D Renewal Letter B Renewal Letter C,E Renewal Letter F,G Renewal Letter H,N Renewal Letter I,T	Expiration Date 31-Mar Expiration Date 30-Apr Expiration Date 31-May Expiration Date 30-Jun Expiration Date 31-Jul Expiration Date 31-Aug Expiration Date 30-Sept Expiration Date 31-Oct Expiration Date 30-Nov	Inactivation Date 1-May* Inactivation Date 1-Jun* Inactivation Date 1-Jul* Inactivation Date 1-Aug* Inactivation Date 1-Sept* Inactivation Date 1-Oct* Inactivation Date 1-Nov* Inactivation Date 1-Dec* Inactivation Date 1-Jan*	
	month after the expirat Substance Registration renewed. It is unlawful	Expiration Dae 31-Dec renewed, it is inactivated (removion date. During this 30-day per is considered expired (not valid to administer, dispense, and/or active and valid Hawaii Controlle	iod, the Hawaii Controlled) until the registration is r prescribe a controlled	
License Renewals	controlled substances. A first letter of the application application due to the a Registration renewal is notice as a courtesy to a expiration, however, the to your expiration date.	wal of your registration is required to be in compliance to handle ubstances. As mentioned above, expiration dates are generated by the f the applicant's last name so the date will not change. Initial applicant in expiration date that is under a year or over a year's time for the first due to the aforementioned system of generating the expiration date. renewal is the registrant's responsibility. Our office may send a renew ourtesy to each registrant at least 60 days and 30 days prior to the nowever, the option to renew will not be available more than 60 days p ration date. The renewal notice is sent via email to the registrant's email on record. It is the registrant's responsibility to ensure the email		
	of responsibility for renewing the registration prior to its expiration date and a late fee will be incurred. A registration can be renewed online at <u>https://ned.ehawaii.gov/</u> or by completing the mail-in application.			
	date, your registration very expiration date, the full	renew your registration within a will be inactivated. If you renew fee (including the late fee) is rec opire in less than one year.	your registration after the	
Inactivation	must inform our office i <u>Registration</u> form may b processed. It is not reco	no longer needs their controlled mmediately of such in writing. T be completed and emailed or fax ommended to let the registration , the registrant will be responsib	he <u>Request for Change in</u> ted to our office to be a lapse following its expiration	